Best overall 2026
Our top pick: RedLight Innovation Hat Pro
Three red wavelengths, 80% scalp coverage and a washable everyday cap, for £372.1
- TripleWave: 125 diodes, 3 red wavelengths
- ~80% scalp coverage (vs ~50% for laser caps)
- Washable soft cap, 15 minutes a day
- £372, or 3 interest-free payments
- 90-day money-back guarantee
1 Specs from RedLight Innovation’s product page.
£372 Available
View the Hat Pro Why it’s our pick
We compare hats using manufacturers’ published specs, prices and the clinical research, and we don’t earn commission on links. How we review. Updated .
Why does the Hat Pro win?
- TripleWave
125 diodes at 615, 635 and 650 nm for different depths in the scalp, plus 450 nm blue for a flaky or oily scalp.
- 80% coverage
About 80% of the scalp, versus about 50% for laser caps, from a 500 mW panel.
- Washable cap
A soft cap with a lift-out panel, a 54–62 cm fit and a 15-minute USB-C controller.
- £372 once
Or 3 interest-free payments, against laser caps at £700 to over £2,300.
- 90-day guarantee
Money back after the suitability quiz, progress photos and a trichologist review.
- Delivery and support
Free UK next-day delivery from Kent, a 1-year warranty if you register within 7 days, and a consultation with Celestine Gitau.
Specs from RedLight Innovation’s product page. Laser-cap prices on that page were checked in August 2026. Guarantee conditions are on the 90-day page.
| What matters | Hat Pro £372 | Beauty Pie £332 | HigherDOSE £449 | CurrentBody £649.99 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Three named red wavelengths | Yes | No | No | No |
| 450 nm blue listed too | Yes | No | No | No |
| Panel lifts out to wash | Yes | Yes | No | No |
| Under £400 | Yes | Yes | No | No |
| Soft cap, not a rigid helmet | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| A published head size | Yes | No | No | Yes |
| Done in 15 minutes or less | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Available to order | Yes | No | Yes | No |
HigherDOSE is the cordless cap, at £449, if a cable is the thing you want to avoid. CurrentBody is the rigid helmet, at £649.99, and it was out of stock. Beauty Pie is £332, and it was out of stock too. The Hat Pro was available at £372.
The RedLight study
RedLight Innovation’s own study followed 6 volunteers, 3 men and 3 women, for 90 days. They used the hat for 15 minutes a day. The brand says the study finished in August 2024, with scalp microscopy before and at day 90, and it reports 0 adverse reactions. Participants 01 to 03 are the men and 04 to 06 are the women. This is the brand’s write-up. It does not describe a control group, and it is not an independent or controlled trial. Read the study page.
The originals on the study page are about 200 pixels wide. These are the same files at twice that size, without sharpening.
What do buyers say on the brand’s website?
Rated 4.8/5 from 503 reviews on RedLight Innovation’s website (Okendo, October 2026). These are customer reviews from the brand’s website, not reviews by this guide.
The lights are extremely bright and the quality of the hat is probably the best I have felt ever. It feels really well made and comfortable to wear, and you can tell a lot of thought has gone into the design.
I'm not sure if its hugely noticeable but I feel it has definitely helped
I mixed my treatment with 5% minoxidil foam everyday… These are my progress pics after 85 days and I'm so happy with the way my hair is looking already.
Which other hats are worth considering?
Beauty Pie is the budget cap, HigherDOSE is the cordless cap, and CurrentBody is the premium helmet. The Hat Pro card stays highlighted because it is the best overall.
How do these red light hats compare?
The Hat Pro is the only one of the four that was in stock, under £400, a soft cap, and sold with a centimetre fit. The figures below were checked in October 2026.
£372
Available
- Form
- Hat with a lift-out panel
- Wavelengths
- 615, 635, 650 nm red, plus 450 nm blue
- Output
- 500 mW panel
- Session
- 15 minutes
- Fit
- 54–62 cm
£332
Out of stock
- Form
- Cotton cap, removable panel
- Wavelengths
- 655 nm red
- Output
- 20 mW/cm² at the surface
- Session
- 10 minutes
- Fit
- Not stated
£449
Available
- Form
- Cordless cap
- Wavelengths
- 650 nm red
- Output
- 5 mW/cm²
- Session
- 10 minutes
- Fit
- Flexible sizing
£649.99
Out of stock
- Form
- Helmet with Bluetooth audio
- Wavelengths
- 620–660 nm red
- Output
- Not stated
- Session
- 10 minutes
- Fit
- M 54–58.9 cm, L 59–63.5 cm
Prices checked October 2026. Specs are from each brand’s product page.
| Device | Price | Form | Wavelengths | Output | Session | Fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RedLight Innovation Hat Pro Best overall Available | £372 | Hat with a lift-out panel | 615, 635, 650 nm red, plus 450 nm blue | 500 mW panel | 15 minutes | 54–62 cm |
| Beauty Pie All Systems Grow Best budget Out of stock | £332 | Cotton cap, removable panel | 655 nm red | 20 mW/cm² at the surface | 10 minutes | Not stated |
| HigherDOSE Red Light Hat Best cordless cap Available | £449 | Cordless cap | 650 nm red | 5 mW/cm² | 10 minutes | Flexible sizing |
| CurrentBody LED Hair Growth Helmet Best premium helmet Out of stock | £649.99 | Helmet with Bluetooth audio | 620–660 nm red | Not stated | 10 minutes | M 54–58.9 cm, L 59–63.5 cm |
The Hat Pro product page says about 80% coverage. CurrentBody describes a full-head helmet. HigherDOSE and Beauty Pie do not give a percentage.
What should a red light hat include?
A useful red light hat names its red wavelengths, fits your head, tells you how much of the scalp the light reaches, and asks for 10 or 15 minutes. The Hat Pro names three: 615, 635 and 650 nm for different depths in the scalp, plus 450 nm blue for a flaky or oily scalp. It also publishes a 54–62 cm fit, about 80% coverage and a 15-minute session, at £372, and it was available to order.
Research suggests red light may help with pattern hair loss when you use it consistently over months. Hair-density studies mostly use red light around 630–680 nm, which covers the Hat Pro’s 635 and 650 nm. They were not run on these four shop models. Blue light and near-infrared are different claims. None of these four product pages lists near-infrared.
Which hat should you buy if you want something else?
Choose CurrentBody for a rigid helmet, HigherDOSE for a cordless cap, or Beauty Pie for the lowest list price. Measure your head first. The Hat Pro’s 54–62 cm range is the clearest cap fit here. CurrentBody splits medium and large either side of about 59 cm, if you want the helmet and can wait for stock.
HigherDOSE is the cordless 10-minute cap, at £449. Beauty Pie is the lowest list price, at £332, with 655 nm red light, and it was out of stock. Laser caps from brands such as HairMax and Capillus appear in the research. They are not in this table, because we only list a price checked on the brand’s own UK page.
The longer checklist is the buying guide. LED or laser explains the difference in the light itself.
Does red light therapy work for hair loss?
For pattern hair loss, the pooled trials found more hair, on average, with a real red light or low-level laser device than with a sham that looked the same but did not emit the light. Liu and colleagues reported that pattern in sham-controlled trials. Studies usually look at 16 to 26 weeks. They do not all agree on how big the change is.
If your shedding is sudden, patchy, or comes with illness, see a GP before you buy a device. The NHS asks for that conversation before a commercial clinic. The numbers, and how minoxidil compares, are on the evidence page and in red light or minoxidil.
When did the studies measure a change?
The stronger sham-controlled trials counted hairs at about 16 to 26 weeks. Brand pages cite 84 days, 90 days, or 12 to 24 weeks.
- 84 days
CurrentBody’s 31-person study measured out to 84 days. The summary does not describe a sham helmet.
- 90 days
RedLight Innovation’s challenge is about 13 weeks, on the early side of the longer trials. Its own feature follows six people.
- 12–24 weeks
Beauty Pie’s footnote puts the studies it cites in this range. The brand says those studies were not of this cap.
- 16–26 weeks
The stronger sham-controlled trials counted hairs over a few months, not over a weekend.
- After 20 weeks
Perez and colleagues found a larger average difference in studies longer than 20 weeks (SMD 1.44) than in shorter ones (SMD 1.14).
- 6 months
A 2024 trial compared a 633 nm light protocol with 5% minoxidil in men. Both groups gained density. The difference between them was not significant.
Common questions
What is the best red light therapy hat for hair growth in the UK?
The RedLight Innovation Hat Pro, at £372. TripleWave is 125 diodes at 615, 635 and 650 nm, plus 450 nm blue for a flaky or oily scalp. Coverage is about 80%, the panel is 500 mW, the fit is 54–62 cm, and a session is 15 minutes. It was in stock.
Do these hats use near-infrared light?
No. The Hat Pro product page lists red plus 450 nm blue. CurrentBody lists 620–660 nm red. HigherDOSE lists 650 nm. Beauty Pie lists 655 nm.
Are red light therapy hats available on the NHS?
No. You buy them yourself. The NHS hair-loss page talks about minoxidil and, for men, finasteride. It does not offer a red light cap.
How long does red light therapy take to work?
Research suggests red light may help with pattern hair loss when people use it consistently over months. The better studies count hairs at about 16 to 26 weeks. Some people see no change.
Can I use a hat with minoxidil?
The trials do not agree that adding light to minoxidil beats minoxidil alone. Minoxidil is a medicine, and the NHS says it only works while you use it. Ask a GP or pharmacist before you combine them.
What does the 90-day money-back guarantee require?
The suitability quiz, progress photos and a review by the brand’s trichologist. It is not an unconditional refund. The warranty is one year if you register within 7 days.
Sources
- RedLight Hat Pro product page — £372, 615, 635 and 650 nm plus 450 nm blue, 125 diodes, 500 mW, about 80% coverage, 15 minutes, 54–62 cm.
- CurrentBody Skin LED Hair Growth Helmet — £649.99, 120 red LEDs, 620–660 nm, 10 minutes, two sizes.
- HigherDOSE Red Light Hat, UK page — £449, 120 LEDs, 650 nm, 5 mW/cm², 10 minutes.
- Beauty Pie All Systems Grow LED cap — £332, 125 LEDs, 655 nm, 20 mW/cm² at the surface.
- NHS: Hair loss
- Liu and colleagues, 2019 meta-analysis — Sham-controlled trials of low-level laser therapy and hair density.
- RedLight Innovation: the 90-day study — The brand’s own write-up of 6 volunteers, 15 minutes a day, finishing August 2024.
- RedLight Innovation: 90-day money-back guarantee — Suitability quiz, progress photos and a trichologist review.
- RedLight Innovation warranty — 1-year warranty if you register within 7 days.
- RedLight Innovation shipping — Free UK next-day delivery from Kent.
- RedLight Innovation trichologist consultation — Free consultation. The brand lists Celestine Gitau, Institute of Trichologists no. 583.
- RedLight Innovation customer reviews — 4.8/5 from 503 reviews on the brand’s site, Okendo, October 2026.
- RedLight Innovation contact — Email and WhatsApp support.
- RedLight Innovation hair check page — The brand’s comparison: minoxidil £900 and prescriptions £720 over three years, against £372 once.