Guide to Growing Hair Red light, hair loss, and the evidence

Best budget

Beauty Pie All Systems Grow LED cap review

The cheapest of the four, at £332, with 655 nm red light and a refreshingly plain footnote. Buy it when it is actually in stock.

We compare hats using manufacturers’ published specs, prices and the clinical research, and we don’t earn commission on links. How we review.

The Beauty Pie All Systems Grow cap is our best budget pick at £332, with 125 LEDs at 655 nm, a stated 20 mW/cm² and 10-minute sessions. It was out of stock, and Beauty Pie says this device has not had an independent clinical test. Buy it when it is back in stock if £332 is your ceiling.

On this page

On this page

  1. What are you buying with the Beauty Pie cap?
  2. What does the Beauty Pie footnote actually say?
  3. Questions
  4. Sources
Beauty Pie All Systems Grow LED cap, a black cotton cap, on a white background.
Beauty Pie All Systems Grow. Image: Beauty Pie

Best budget

Beauty Pie All Systems Grow

£332

  • 10 minutes
  • 655 nm
  • 20 mW/cm²

The lowest price of the four, with a single red wavelength and a stated power density. Worth it if it is back in stock and you are happy with the brand’s own footnote.

Key specs

Price
£332
Availability
Out of stock
Form
Cotton cap, removable panel
Wavelengths
655 nm red
Light source
LED
Count
125 LEDs
Output
20 mW/cm² at the surface
Session
10 minutes
Coverage
Not stated
Fit
Not stated

List price. A member price is mentioned, but no member figure is shown. Specs from the Beauty Pie product page. Source

Pros

  • Lowest list price, at £332.
  • 655 nm red light and a stated 20 mW/cm².
  • 125 LEDs in a cap with a removable panel.
  • The footnote is unusually clear that this device was not the one in the studies.

Cons

  • Out of stock.
  • No independent clinical test of this cap, by the brand’s own account.
  • No fit range and no coverage figure.
  • The 20 mW comparison with HigherDOSE is about optical output, not a better result.

View product

If you want the lowest price, start here. Beauty Pie’s All Systems Grow cap is a grey cotton baseball cap with 125 LEDs at 655 nm, a removable panel, and a 10-minute session. The list price is £332.

It is our best budget pick for that price and that wavelength. It is not our best overall, because it was out of stock and the brand is frank that this particular cap has not been independently tested.

What are you buying with the Beauty Pie cap?

The instructions say daily use for 8 to 12 weeks, then three or four times a week. The footnote, which is the part to read, says visible change is typically put at 12 to 24 weeks. Those clocks do not match. If you are giving it a fair run, use the longer one.

655 nm is a single red wavelength in the range hair studies use. One wavelength is not a disadvantage next to a hat that lists three. The page also states 20 mW/cm² at the device surface, and compares that with HigherDOSE’s 5 mW. The same footnote says this is a comparison of stated optical output, not proof of a better result. That is the right way to read it.

No head size is printed. No coverage percentage is printed. If your concern is a receding hairline, look at where the LEDs sit, not at the crown of the cap in the photo.

The page calls the cap a non-invasive alternative to medicines and surgery. “Alternative” is a shopping word. Minoxidil and, for men, finasteride are still the treatments the NHS names for pattern hair loss, with the caveat that they do not work for everyone.

What does the Beauty Pie footnote actually say?

The selling lines say the treatment is clinically proven to deliver thicker, fuller-looking hair and to reduce shedding. The asterisk changes the meaning. Beauty Pie says the language is based on published studies of similar 650–655 nm devices, names papers including Gentile and Garcovich, Lueangarun and colleagues, and Yang and colleagues, and then says this device has not undergone independent clinical testing. Results vary. The product is for cosmetic use only, and is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

Studies of similar devices are the category evidence on does red light therapy work. They are not a trial of this panel in this cap. “Cosmetic use only” also means you should not upgrade the wording into a medical claim. More on that split is on the UK regulation page.

If the cap is back in stock and £332 is your ceiling, it is a sensible buy with your eyes open. If you want a fit range and a coverage figure you can shop with today, the Hat Pro is the better pick at £40 more.

Common questions

How much is the Beauty Pie LED hair cap?

£332. The page talks about a member price without printing a member figure. It was out of stock.

Has this cap been clinically tested?

Beauty Pie says it has not. The page points to published studies of similar 650–655 nm devices, and says visible change is typically discussed at 12 to 24 weeks.

Is 20 mW/cm² better than 5 mW/cm²?

It is a higher stated optical power density if both numbers were measured the same way. Beauty Pie says that comparison does not mean better clinical results.

How do you use it?

The page says 10 minutes a day for 8 to 12 weeks, then 3 to 4 times a week. The footnote talks about 12 to 24 weeks for a visible change. Follow the manual you receive.

Sources

  1. Beauty Pie All Systems Grow H-Wave LED cap — Price, stock, LED count, wavelength, power-density footnote and use instructions.
  2. Perez and colleagues, systematic review
  3. NHS: Hair loss

Beauty Pie All Systems Grow £332

View product