Best cordless cap
HigherDOSE Red Light Hat review
A cordless cap at £449, one red wavelength, and ten minutes. The easy everyday option if you do not need a published fit range.
We compare hats using manufacturers’ published specs, prices and the clinical research, and we don’t earn commission on links. How we review.
The HigherDOSE Red Light Hat is our best cordless cap, at £449, with 120 LEDs at 650 nm, 5 mW/cm² and a 10-minute session. Fit is described as flexible, with no centimetre range and no coverage percentage. The growth figures on the page come from a survey of 28 users, not a controlled trial.
On this page
On this page
Best cordless cap
HigherDOSE Red Light Hat
£449
- 10 minutes
- 650 nm
- Cordless
A simple cordless cap at one red wavelength, if you want ten quiet minutes and you do not need a published fit range.
Key specs
- Price
- £449
- Availability
- Available
- Form
- Cordless cap
- Wavelengths
- 650 nm red
- Light source
- LED
- Count
- 120 LEDs
- Output
- 5 mW/cm²
- Session
- 10 minutes
- Coverage
- Not stated
- Fit
- Flexible sizing
Hat price. A starter kit was listed at £555, down from £694. Specs from the HigherDOSE product page. Source
Pros
- Cordless and light enough to wear around the house.
- 650 nm and 5 mW/cm², both stated plainly.
- 10-minute sessions.
- The survey size is printed, not hidden.
Cons
- £77 more than the Hat Pro, with a less specific fit.
- Results language comes from a 28-person survey.
- No coverage figure.
- FDA-cleared is a US status, not an NHS or MHRA approval.
HigherDOSE’s hat is the one to pick when you want the routine to disappear into a morning. It is a cordless baseball cap. You put it on, you take it off ten minutes later, and there is no cable while you wear it.
The UK page lists 120 LEDs at 650 nm, 5 mW/cm², an 800 mAh battery, USB-C charging and a weight of 0.8 kg. The hat is £449. That wavelength is squarely in the red range used in hair research, and the power is given as a density, which is the useful kind of number.
How much is the HigherDOSE hat, and what is in the kit?
A starter kit was listed at £555, with £694 crossed out. A kit discount only helps if you wanted the extras. The text does not spell out a contents list clearly enough to treat £555 as the price of the hat, so we compare the hat at £449. Look at the selector before you check out.
Ten minutes at 5 mW/cm² is about 3 joules per square centimetre, if that 5 mW/cm² is the light at the scalp for the whole session. Brands measure at different distances. The sum is a way to see that this is a smaller stated dose than 15 minutes at the 10 mW/cm² figure on RedLight Innovation’s other page. The arithmetic is in the buying guide.
How does the HigherDOSE hat fit, and what does the survey show?
650 nm is one wavelength. That is not automatically worse than three. What matters is whether the light reaches the hair you care about. HigherDOSE does not state a coverage percentage. “Flexible sizing” is the fit language. There is no 54–62 cm range. A strap does not move the LEDs onto the temples.
The results lines come from a survey of 28 users over 16 weeks: 93% reported better hair and scalp health, 86% reported growth, and 83% reported growth in sparse areas. A survey of people who bought the hat is not a sham-controlled trial. It is still more specific than a slogan, because the brand prints the denominator.
The page says the technology is FDA-cleared. That lets a company sell a device for a stated purpose in the United States. It is not a UK clinical guideline, and it is not evidence that this cap beat minoxidil. See the regulation note.
Buy this if cordless and simple is the point, and £449 feels fair for that. Buy the Hat Pro if you want £77 back, a centimetre fit range, and a coverage figure. Buy the CurrentBody helmet if you would rather have a rigid full-head device and the longer study summary.
Product photos
Common questions
How much is the HigherDOSE red light hat in the UK?
£449 for the hat. A starter kit on the same page was £555, reduced from £694. Check what the kit adds.
What are the specs?
120 LEDs, 650 nm, 5 mW/cm², an 800 mAh battery, USB-C charging, dimensions 300 × 190 × 130 mm and a weight of 0.8 kg. Sessions are 10 minutes.
Did 86% of people grow hair?
HigherDOSE says 86% of 28 surveyed users noticed hair growth over 16 weeks, 93% noticed better hair and scalp health, and 83% noticed growth in sparse areas. That is the brand’s survey. It is not a randomised trial.
Is FDA clearance the same as NHS approval?
No. FDA clearance is a US market status. It does not mean the NHS provides the hat, or that the MHRA has approved a medical claim.
Sources
- HigherDOSE Red Light Hat, UK page — Price, wavelength, LED count, irradiance, battery, dimensions and the 28-user survey.
- Meta-analysis of photobiomodulation for androgenetic alopecia
- NHS: Hair loss